2022 Liverpool International Theatre Festival awards

The Italian theatre company, Avanzi di Scena, celebrate their People’s Choice Award win Sunday night at the 2022 Liverpool International Theatre Festival. (Photo by Chris LaRocque)


We wrapped up another successful festival on Sunday night with our awards and closing ceremonies.

Here are the awards, as determined and presented by adjudicator Paul Fowler.

Outstanding Supporting Male Actor

Espinosa Ramirez as the director Letocard in Audicion para la Guillotina, Movimiento Teatro, Mexico 

Outstanding Supporting Female Actor

The cast of Commedia Rapunzel, The Little Theatre of Norfolk, Virginia, USA, for their mutual support in creating a true ensemble piece

Outstanding Visual Presentation

Avanzi di Scena Cultural Association of Italy for the stunning visual impact of The Italian Movie Factory

Best Original Script

Hilde Moysen, George Perec and the Lucky Leo company of Belgium for The Raise

Outstanding Female Actor

Debbie Jacobs as the manager in The Raise, Lucky Leo, Belgium

Outstanding Male Actor

Shanty Loba as the hapless lover Lecardin in Audicion para la Guillotina, Movimiento Teatro, Mexico

Outstanding Director

Francesco Angeloni and Laura Farina for the The Italian Movie Factory, Avanzi di Scena Cultural Association

Outstanding International Production

The Italian Movie Factory, Avanzi di Scena Cultural Association

People’s Choice Award

The Italian Movie Factory, Avanzi di Scena Cultural Association

Our artistic directors Neil Maidman and Vic Mills also handed out special awards Sunday evening apart from the main competition.

  • Smile Group Canada for light, sound, spectacle and puppetry.
  • Guilsfield Amateur Dramatic Society from Wales for a striking visual image to end a play.
  • Morocco for crossing cultural divides and addressing challenging issues.
  • Adriana Mascorro of Mexico for ingenuity of design for her guillotine in a bag!
  • Deborah Raddall of The Offstage Cast podcast — an exciting innovation for this festival.
  • John Gillis of Little Theatre of Norfolk — special recognition award for a great career in theatre and contribution to LITF over many years.
  • Norm Amirault for a presentation that broke new grounds in the field of impromptu driving and comedic stylings
  • Avanzi di Scena, Italy for excellence in sound and AV design.
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close